Monday, October 1, 2012

Duke Island Park 5K!

My 2nd 5K! I couldn't believe I did it again! This is a race I had really been looking forward to because Duke Island Park is so beautiful and the races there are always so much fun, even when you're not running. I almost didn't run this one because I was feeling a lot of pain in my shin still and was worried I wouldn't make it (I'm telling you, 90% of working out is mental!). 
We arrived at the race and signed up. I was proudly sporting my "Catch the BzzZZzz" t-shirt, compliments of New Reflections. I was immediately excited to start running. We had about 15 minutes to kill before the race started, so we stretched and warmed up, and waited to line up. 
The start was a bit odd because I could barely hear someone talking about the course, etc., and then all of a sudden, I heard, "Ready, set, go!" And we were off! I didn't even have time to get nervous or anything.
This crowd was a little larger than at the Dunellen 5K, so I spent the first 1/4 mile or so dodging other people and trying to find my lane. I ended up getting stuck behind two women for about another 1/4 mile, when finally one of them dropped off and I passed her. I stayed even with the other one, and actually ran the duration of the race right alongside her. I found out she was a field hockey coach from Piscataway, and she was running with her team from the high school. I told her my story of C25K, and how two and a half months ago, I couldn't do what I was doing right now. She told me that she runs about once a year, and a little bit during field hockey practices. We were both so amazed at each other, and we formed an instant bond. 
It was great to have someone to run with this time. We kept each other going and neither of us wanted to quit. I admit, there were a few times when I wanted to stop and walk, but I didn't want to let my new friend down. With about 3/4 mile to go, Evan came back to find me. I introduced him to my new friend and handed over my iPhone so he could take my picture as I was coming in to the finish line. We realized that we were doing great on time, and that encouraged us to pick it up a little bit. When we rounded the final turn, we picked it up even more and pushed it in to the finish line. I was really tired, so sprinting to the finish was harder this time. The sound of people cheering for you is such an encouraging sound and it fills you with great adrenaline. I realized when I saw the race clock that I was going to beat my time from the Dunellen 5K, and beat it I did. By two whole minutes! My race buddy and I hugged as if we had taken this whole journey together. We were so proud of each other, it was absolutely awesome. We congratulated each other, and then went our separate ways to cool down. 
This was a really fun race. I really enjoyed myself. It was great to have a race buddy to keep me going and keep me motivated. I was stoked that I beat my first 5K time by 2 minutes. Oh, and that pain I was feeling in my shin? What pain? ;)

Here's me, about to cross the finish line!!

Monday, September 17, 2012

Reflections on the Race

Now that the dust has settled from Saturday's 5K, I thought I'd take a moment to reflect on the race a bit.
Above all, I am extremely proud of what I have accomplished. Back in early July, I would have laughed in your face if you had told me I was going to run a 5K in two months. I never would have thought that I could make it this far this fast. 
Running the 5K race was such a tremendous accomplishment for me. 
Consider the following: 
  • Two months ago, I could barely run for 1 minute
  • I have never run a 5K in my life
  • Earlier in the week before the 5K, I had pretty much decided that I was not going to run it because I wasn't ready 
  • I wasn't technically finished with the C25K program (I skipped over Weeks 7 and 8)
I ran about 13-minute miles during the race, but all things considered, I'd say that's pretty darn good. I wasn't trying to win, I was just trying to finish. From here on out, I can focus on improving my time and becoming an even better runner. (I even treated myself to a new pair of running shoes...I think I deserve it, don't you?)
I had been to plenty of 5K races before, but I had never run in one. I didn't really know what to expect. I knew that there would be lots of people. I knew that there would be people who were WAY better at running than I was (and I was OK with that). I knew that it was going to be harder than anything I've ever done. That was about the extent of my knowledge on the matter. 

As I said, when they said "Go!" I had a quick moment of panic, realizing that I was running a race, and I had to finish. It was too late to change my mind. I had so many thoughts running through my head during the race. I can't even tell you what songs I heard...I barely even remember that I was listening to music at all. I had no idea where the mile markers were, so I never knew how far I had gone, and how far I still had to go. I didn't even know what 3.1 miles felt like because I had never done this before...ever. 
My thoughts changed rapidly from "Just keep going," to, "That's a pretty house," to, "I wonder how far 'till the end?" I thought about my whole journey up to this point. I thought about Oma (my grandma). I thought about all the people in the world who can't run. Throughout the whole thing, I just kept telling myself not to give up and not to stop. 

A few people passed me during the race: a woman who stopped to walk a few times and still beat me; an older man who appeared to be speed-walking instead of running; and a woman running with a stroller. That discouraged me a little bit, but I kept reminding myself that there were still people behind me, so that made me feel better. 
When I finally reached the finish line, it felt so good to hear people cheering for me - even though I was one of the last people to finish. I was overwhelmed with emotion. I was crying, I was laughing, I was proud... I let out a big "YES!" when I crossed the finish line. I had done it. Compared to all the "good" runners, I did terrible, but compared to myself, I did awesome. I was surrounded by people who love me and support me, and it felt great. 

And so, with that...I leave you with this:

Saturday, September 15, 2012

Dunellen 5K!

Saturday. Run the Dunellen 5K!

My Wednesday run was so successful, I decided to skip ahead and go for the 5K today! I am so proud of what I have been able to do during these past 8 or so weeks. Think about that...just two short months ago, I was scared to run for even 1 minute, and today, I ran a 5K. This has been my dream for over 10 years. I have always wanted to be a runner, and now I can proudly say that I am!

The race started and I had a split second moment of panic where I said, "Holy cow, I am running a 5K. This is it. I can't turn back and quit, I have to do this." I quickly shoved that thought out of my mind and just kept going. My goal was to finish the race and not stop to walk at any point. I was determined.
I reached the 1-mile point at 11 minutes. "OK, I'm not doing too bad," I thought. But then I realized, I still had 2 miles to go. Thankfully it was nice and cool and breezy out, so I wasn't dying from heat exhaustion. I pretty much ran alone for most of the race. A whole ton of people passed me, and there were a handful of people behind me. I actually liked it that way. I could just be myself and keep my own pace and run the way I was used to running. 
During the 2nd mile, Evan came back to find me and ran the rest of the way with me. I was definitely slowing down a lot, but I was NOT going to stop to walk. I was playing the "song game" in my head. Anytime a new song came on, I would say, "OK, just run through till the end of this song." Then the next song would come on and I would say it again. I just wanted to keep going.
I rounded the final corner to the home stretch. I couldn't believe it...I was almost there! I had a little moment where I ran past my grandma's old house and started to cry. I blew her an imaginary kiss and then headed for the finish line. Some of the kids from the Dunellen cross country team saw me coming in and ran back to meet me. They ran in with me and kept me going. I saw my time slowly reaching 40 minutes and I wanted to get less than that so I sprinted to the finish line. 
My final time? 39:52. I don't care how good or bad you think that is. I achieved my goal: I finished, and I didn't stop to walk at any point. It was great having people cheering for me and keeping me motivated. I cannot believe I just ran a 5K. I cannot thank you all enough. Everyone who has read this blog, supported me, cheered me on, encouraged me...THANK YOU. I could NOT have done it without all of you. 
So, I guess the question now is, am I going to keep running? HECK YEAH!!! 


Wednesday, September 12, 2012

Week 6 Day 2 - Take 2

Wednesday. Brisk five-minute warm-up walk, then: Jog 1 mile (or 10 minutes); walk 1/4 mile (or 3 minutes); jog 1 mile (or 10 minutes).

Jogging two days in a row? Look at me go! (Hey, that rhymed!) Anyway, a funny thing happened to me while I was running...I had left my phone in silent mode, and when it's on silent, you can't hear the voice commands from the C25K app, it only vibrates when it's time to start walking or jogging. I didn't realize I had done this, so I just kept running. I had my phone in my shirt pocket, so I couldn't even feel it vibrate. I got to what I thought was about the 1-mile mark, and I hadn't heard the voice command to start walking yet. I shrugged it off and kept running. I started to feel like this 10 minutes was lasting a long time, which is when it hit me that my phone was still on silent. I turned off silent mode, and within about 30 seconds I heard, "Begin running," which meant not only had a run through the first 10-minute run, but also through the 5-minute walk, and this was the prompt for the second 10-minute run! 
Well, I wasn't about to stop and walk now! I kept going. Granted, I did slow down a bit at some points, but I didn't stop running. Along the way, I saw two adorable little boys standing on their front porch. They waved and smiled at me, and I waved back and asked if they wanted to come with me...they didn't :( 
I couldn't believe I was doing what I was doing. I ran for 25 minutes without stopping! The last time I tried to do this, I nearly passed out from the pain and the heat, and I couldn't do it without stopping to walk. I had the biggest grin on my face and I was so proud of myself. I felt on top of the world. Hmm, maybe I'll run that 5K this Saturday after all...



Tuesday, September 11, 2012

Week 6 Day 1 - Take 3

Tuesday. Brisk five-minute warm-up walk, then: Jog for 5 minutes; walk for 3 minutes; jog for 8 minutes; walk for 3 minutes; jog for 5 minutes.

Today I had a unique opportunity to run in an entirely new place. I had an eye doctor appointment in Watchung, so I wasn't too far from Watchung Park. The loop around the park is exactly one mile, and there's a pretty lake there too. 
I was excited to run there, just for a change of scenery. Heck, I was just excited to run! I knew there would be some hills, so it would be an extra challenge. My eye doctor was quite the gabby type, so I started a lot later than I thought I would. But let me say, I am loving this cool weather! What a difference from the sweltering heat of the summer! 
For some reason I had some trouble with the C25K app at first, but it straightened itself out and I was on the run! It felt good. I was happy, I was confident, and I was having fun. There were a LOT of other people at the park, so the pressure was on! 
During the part where you're supposed to run for 8 minutes, I had a moment where I thought, "I should just keep going when the 8 minutes is up. I can run through the 3-minute walking part, then just keep going through the 5-minute jogging part." There was a brief moment where I really thought I could do it. But I psyched myself out, and when the 8 minutes was up, I stopped to walk. A big part of me wanted to start running again, and I suppose I probably should have. Thinking of running in several minute-long "spurts" is much less scary than thinking about running 20 minutes non-stop. When I go running tomorrow, I think I will do what I thought I should have done today.
Today's run was good. I felt good, the weather was beautiful, and it was just all-around good.

Here's me at the lake after I finished my run...enjoy!

Sunday, September 9, 2012

Week ? Day ?

Sunday. 
Since it was Sunday, I decided to "do my own thing." I set a goal of running for two miles, and just decided to see how I would do. 
I rode my bike to the track and started my warmup. I walked one lap around and then started running. I got about two laps around (about 1/2 a mile) and had to start walking. I walked a half lap then did two more laps running. All in all, I did complete two miles, about half walking and half running. 
It was a beautiful day - nice and breezy and not humid at all. However, the sun was still pretty high in the sky and I could still feel the heat. 
Next week, I think I am going to up the ante a little bit. I'm going to try running four days a week instead of three days. I did have a minor setback this week because I was sick on Thursday and Friday, but I refuse to quit. I really want to make it to the end and run that 5K. 

I'll leave you with this, because this is what I was feeling today:


Thursday, September 6, 2012

Week 5 Day 2 - Take 2

Wednesday. Brisk five-minute warm-up walk, then: Jog 3/4 mile (or 8 minutes); walk 1/2 mile (or 5 minutes); jog 3/4 mile (or 8 minutes).

Today I had extra fuel for my fire because today is the NY Giants home opener against the Dallas Cowboys! I had all the memories of the Superbowl and the Giants' spectacular 2011 season swirling in my head as I ran. I'm so excited for football season, and I couldn't wait to finish up the workout and get to the game! Thinking of all that helped me to run just a little faster and work a little harder. 

It was hot and muggy out today so the air was extra thick. When it's like that, it is so hard to breathe, so unfortunately working out is not much fun. But as always, I tried to stay positive and pressed on. 
Allow me to side-bar for a moment. My mother-in-law got me this great t-shirt, which I just love. The design on the front looks like this:

I think that is absolutely hilarious! Maybe that would help me become a better runner if I strapped a piece of bacon to my forehead!

So what motivates you? I know lots of people are motivated by their families, or their health, or just a desire to get out and do something. What keeps me going is that this is the first time in a long time that I am doing something for myself. Ever since my wedding, I stopped really caring about my eating habits, my weight, and working out. That eventually caught up to me and brought me to where I am now. I wanted to feel sexy again. I didn't want to get depressed every time I tried on clothes. I didn't want to have to keep throwing out clothes I already had because they didn't fit. That's why I said, I am fed up. When I run, I feel free. I feel on top of the world. Granted, half the time I am gasping for air, (and I probably don't look very sexy), but I never stop. When I run, I run by my own rules. I go where I want to go. I celebrate personal victories. It's all mine. 
I may not have met the goal of being able to run the Dunellen 5K, but that's OK. I met the goal of getting out there and getting more exercise. People are telling me I look great, so it must be working! Even if it takes me another year to finally run a 5K, at least I got out there. I am a runner now. That is something that I can definitely be proud of. 

Monday, September 3, 2012

Week 5 Day 1 - Take 2

Monday. Brisk 5-minute warmup walk, then: Jog for 5 minutes; walk for 3 minutes; jog for 5 minutes; walk for 3 minutes; jog for 5 minutes.

Happy Labor Day!
OK, I know what you're thinking. She went backwards one week! And yes, I did. But I had taken a week off from running, and wanted to go easy on myself. I rode my bike to the track and began my workout. My shins have had plenty of time to rest and heal, so I wasn't wearing any ace bandages or KT Tape or anything. Well, I take that back...I was wearing KT Tape on the soles of my feet to help prevent blisters. But other than that, I was au naturale. I felt a slight twinge on pain in my left shin at first, but once I started really moving, it went away. Hooray! My shins have healed!
I definitely felt that I had taken a week off from running. This workout was a lot harder the 2nd time around! But it felt good, and I was happy to be back at it, and back to normal (it's funny - and awesome - how my "normal" now includes working out!). 
From now on, no excuses! Life will always get in the way, but if you're really serious about exercise, you will make the time to do it. When my workout finished, I felt so good, I decided to do another couple of miles on my bike. I'm a regular bi-athlete! 
Going forward, I will most likely redo Week 5 and 6 and continue on from there. There's no shame in repeating. I had to listen to my body, give myself a chance to rest, and re-build my strength. I'm thankful, too, that it is starting to cool down outside, and fall is just around the corner. It's so much easier to run (and breathe) when it's cool and not hot & humid. So I'm back in the game and better than ever!

I'll just leave this here:


Friday, August 31, 2012

Excuses, Excuses...

OK friends, I have been a bad girl. I have been on vacation this past week, and did some day-trips, which really messed up my running schedule. On top of that, I went down the shore on Wednesday and got REALLY sunburned! Seriously, it hurts to sit down, and it hurts to even walk. Swimming in the ocean and running around on the beach really messed up my shin splints and made my muscles very sore. 
All that being said, I have not been running since Monday :( Above all else, I really want my shin splints to heal. I do feel like I'm just making excuses though. I want to get back out there, and get my schedule back to normal. I actually miss running! I never thought I would say that! 
What this also means is that I will most likely not be ready to run the Dunellen 5K on Sept. 15th. I just don't feel confident enough, and my strength is not where I would like it to be. But I'm okay with that! There will be plenty of other opportunities to run 5K's this fall, which I will definitely be ready for. 

What I learned these past couple of weeks is that nothing is ever the same forever. If you get yourself into a schedule, you have to be able to adapt depending on what's happening in your life. Ordinarily, I work Monday through Friday from 8am-4pm, and go running on Monday, Wednesday and Friday when I come home. When I went on vacation, that was not my schedule anymore, and I couldn't find a "good time" to go running (that's code for: I got lazy). Don't get lazy! If you can't find a "good time," make the time. The workout only takes 35-40 minutes, so it's not like it takes up the whole day. 
So anyway, I admit, I got lazy these past two weeks, but next week I will be back in action and better than ever!
Again, thank you all for your continued support and encouragement. Check back next week for updates!


Monday, August 27, 2012

Week 6 Day 1 - Take 2

Monday. Brisk five-minute warm-up walk, then: Jog for 5 minutes; walk for 3 minutes; jog for 8 minutes; walk for 3 minutes; jog for 5 minutes.


I don't know what's been going on with me lately, but I have had a headache every day for the past 4 or 5 days it seems like. Having a headache really puts a damper on running because, well, you just don't feel like going. I'm on vacation for three days this week, and this morning when I woke up, I had a headache again. I had my cup of coffee, had breakfast and tried to ride it out. It got a little better, but not much. I decided, then, to go running later in the day like I normally do. Evan and I spent the afternoon in Lambertville/New Hope, and I still had a headache. I took an Excedrin and waited it out.

By 4pm, I thought, "OK, no matter how I feel, I'M GOING." I did not want to put it off another day. I went to the canal path again, and I had the whole trail to myself. As you may or may not know, I am repeating Week 6's workouts. I skipped too many days last week to be able to move on to Week 7, and I wanted to build up my strength again. Soon after I started running, I forgot all about my headache. I definitely felt the strain in my muscles, but it felt good. It was even raining a little bit, so it felt nice and cool out. 
It was so good to get back out there. I could feel myself slipping back into "excuse mode" and just being lazy. Once you start a regular exercise program, you really have to keep up with it, otherwise you can easily become a couch potato again. I will definitely not give up running now!
Oh, did I mention there's only three weeks to go until the Dunellen 5K?



Sunday, August 26, 2012

Weekend Update

Due to circumstances (somewhat) beyond my control - migraines, family reunions, shin splints, etc. - I decided to take the weekend off from running. Believe me, I didn't WANT to take the weekend off, but alas, I did. 
That being said, I will be repeating Week 6 of C25K. I am all right with this because I wasn't quite feeling ready to move on to running 2+ miles with no walking in-between. I didn't want all of you to worry about me, so I thought I'd hop on and give you this update. I have by no means given up, I just needed to listen to my body and rest. 

I did have a lovely time with my family at the reunion, and really enjoyed the time off. Everyone seemed interested to hear about my progress in the C25K program, and I was happy to share!
So, fear not faithful followers! I will be back in action starting tomorrow, and as always, will be posting my results here for you all. 
Week 6 - Take 2. Here goes nothing...

Thursday, August 23, 2012

Week 6 Day 2

Thursday. Brisk five-minute warm-up walk, then: Jog 1 mile (or 10 minutes); walk 1/4 mile (or 3 minutes); jog 1 mile (or 10 minutes).

I decided to take an extra day of rest yesterday. I wasn't feeling so great, number one, and number two, I wanted to give my poor shins another day to try and heal. I even went and got myself some brand new ace bandages and insoles for my shoes.
This program has really done a number on my legs! I think it's because I went from doing next to nothing, to doing a LOT in a very short period of time. Even though it's only three days of workouts, that's three days that I wasn't doing before. Not to mention, I've mostly been running on concrete which can really cause a lot of pain and injury if you're not careful.

I think that's a good thing to keep in mind. It's really important to listen to your body. Pain is your body's way of sending you a signal. My husband says that pain is just the weakness leaving your body - which I partially agree with. Sometimes when you feel pain in one area, your body over-compensates for that pain and adjusts itself accordingly, so you could risk even more injury to other areas. It's great to have that passion and drive to want to keep going, but don't risk injuring yourself further. If you're injured, you can't do anything so take it easy on yourself!

Today's run was great. I felt a LOT better than I did last Saturday. Even though there was a 3-minute walk break in the middle, I felt like I could have kept going to do the two miles without stopping. Keeping my shins wrapped, and my arches supported really did make a difference. I felt really strong, and kept getting bursts of energy so I picked up the pace a little bit each time. 
I started playing this game with myself. I would pick a point just within my view and say, "OK, you just have to make it to that point." Then when I got to that point, I would pick another point and do it again. I just kept celebrating those tiny victories, and before I knew it, one mile was up!
I lost a good bit of energy during the second mile, but when I heard the famous "One minute left!" I sprinted to the finish line. I couldn't believe I had done it! I really feel much stronger and much more confident. I was honestly feeling down on myself this morning, and I thought it was only going to get harder. But again, I continue to be surprised as to what my body is capable of!! 


Monday, August 20, 2012

Week 6 Day 1

Monday. Brisk five-minute warm-up walk, then: Jog for 5 minutes; walk for 3 minutes; jog for 8 minutes; walk for 3 minutes; jog for 5 minutes.

I spent the weekend trying to recover from the pain I was feeling in my left calf/ankle. I had my trusty KT Tape on, and kept an ice pack on my shins - 15 minutes on, 15 minutes off. On Sunday, I kept a tightly (but not too tight!) wrapped ace bandage around my ankle for compression and stability, and kept it elevated as much as I could.
Today I was feeling good again. I was excited to get out there and start a new week. I decided to bring my buddy Matt along with me this time. He was complaining to me about putting on a little "summer weight," so I made him come running with me for a little extra motivation :)
We went to the Canal Path, since it was still a little hot outside. And off we went! I admit, I was a little nervous about running because I didn't know how my shins would feel. When the first running interval came along, I winced at first, but then the rest of the way felt fine! Having Matt there for motivation really helped. He did a good job of keeping up, and it was fun to keep each other going. We just kept saying, "How much further? We can do this! We got this!" The 8-minute interval in the middle did not feel that long at all. When you have a buddy with you, you're not paying as much attention to how tired you are or how bad your legs are hurting. You know, I usually like running alone, but I thoroughly enjoyed having a running buddy!
I did make sure to stretch properly when we got back, and I kept ice on my poor shins. I just keep pushing and keep going! Only three weeks to go!

Here's me and Matt, post-workout:

Saturday, August 18, 2012

Week 5 Day 3

Saturday. Brisk five-minute warm-up walk, then jog two miles (or 20 minutes) with no walking.

Holy crap you guys, I just ran two miles without stopping!! I am continually amazed at what my body can do each week. Granted, there were some points where you could have walked faster than I was running, but the point was, I didn't stop. I was feeling a LOT of pain, but I just pushed through it and kept going. It's amazing how sometimes if you push through the pain, it eventually goes away. (Of course, it's important to pay attention to that pain so you don't injure yourself further.)
This was the first time I have done a morning run. It had just rained, so the air was nice and cool, and the sun wasn't fully out yet. I decided to do my "M-R-W" run because I knew that was just about 2 miles. Evan went running as well, so every so often, we would pass each other on the street. 
I started to think about running the 5K. I pictured the crowd and everyone cheering and how that would make me feel. I pictured crossing the finish line and all the people (myself included) who would be so proud of me. I can't believe I am just three weeks away from being ready to run a 5K. I never would have thought my body was capable of doing this. Just a couple of months ago, I wouldn't have been able to run around the block, let alone run around the neighborhood! 
C25K shared this picture on Facebook and Twitter this week, and I just loved it so much, that I'm sharing it again. I can't thank you all enough for your support and encouragement. On to week 6!!



Wednesday, August 15, 2012

Week 5 Day 2

Wednesday. Brisk five-minute warm-up walk, then: Jog 3/4 mile (or 8 minutes); walk 1/2 mile (or 5 minutes); jog 3/4 mile (or 8 minutes).

So today I began running distances instead of times. I was feeling confident and pumped, so I was eager to get out there and do my workout.
I decided to ride my bike to the track at Middlesex High School so that I could easily calculate the distances for each interval. Three-quarters of a mile is three laps around the track, and half-a-mile is two. Just like I was on Monday, I kept thinking to myself, "I can't believe I'm doing this!" I even brought Evan along with me so he could coach me a little and keep me motivated :)
I am absolutely stunned at what I've been able to accomplish in just 5 short weeks...and really, only 15 days since I work out only 3 days a week.  I keep looking back at past times that I have tried running and just failed miserably. I was always trying to accomplish too much, too fast, and too soon. I wanted to be able to run a 5K after a week, but I always failed because that is close to impossible. Unless your name is Superman (or Superwoman), it is crazy to think you will be able to run a 5K after only one week of training, especially if before, you were a certified couch potato like myself. 

C25K is really amazing, and I will confess that when I first started, I didn't think I would make it. I thought, just like every other time, I would get maybe 2 or 3 weeks in and either quit or give up. But now, I am past the half-way point, and I see no signs of quitting, giving up, or failing at all! I have just three weeks to go, and I will be ready for my first 5K! I'm really starting to feel like a real athlete now. I can feel my muscles developing and getting stronger. I have more energy for my workouts (thanks in part to my friend Mary! Check her out at New Reflections!) I feel absolutely amazing. 

By Friday, I am supposed to run 2 whole miles with no walking in-between (yikes!). I'm excited, and I know I can do it. Bring it on!!

Monday, August 13, 2012

Week 5 Day 1

Monday. Brisk 5-minute warmup walk, then: Jog for 5 minutes; walk for 3 minutes; jog for 5 minutes; walk for 3 minutes; jog for 5 minutes.

Now that I am past the half-way point, we are getting into the "meat and potatoes" portion of the workouts. This is where it starts to work you up to the final push before running the 5K. Over the weekend, I was nursing my shins as I seem to have developed shin splints. This is most likely due to the fact that I literally went from being a certified couch potato to being a runner pretty quickly. Plus, I often run on hard surfaces like concrete. My muscles are just not used to this much activity...but all the more reason to keep going, I need to get in shape!
So I found myself some kinesiology tape - that colorful tape you may have seen the Olympians wearing on various parts of their bodies - and tried it out on Saturday. It seemed to be working, as I did not feel any pain in my shin...of course, all I was doing was walking around the house. I was eager to try it out during my run to see if it really would work. Turns out, it did work! I was feeling almost no pain in my shins! Evan was skeptical and thought that it was probably producing a placebo effect. But hey, if I wasn't feeling any pain, I was happy. Of course, I made sure to stretch properly before and after and ice my shin after the run. Just because I wasn't feeling any pain did not mean it wasn't there.

I felt GREAT on today's run. I honestly felt like I could run a 5K today! The first 5 minute interval felt amazing. Since I wasn't feeling much pain in my shins, I felt like I could run forever. When the walking part came up, I was almost disappointed that I had to stop! I wanted to keep going. But I just cheered myself on, and couldn't wait for the next running part. I tried to push myself a little harder, and run a little faster. I felt great. I got to the half-way point a lot faster than I thought I would, but I was still feeling great. I decided to take it easy on the last 5-minute interval until it was time for the cool-down. I kept saying, "I can't believe I'm doing this!" I was grinning ear to ear. I never would have thought I was capable of this type of exercise. I am so proud of myself, and I really appreciate all the encouragement from all of you. Did I mention I felt great today?!


So with that, I leave you with this...

Friday, August 10, 2012

Week 4 Day 3

Monday. Brisk five-minute warm-up walk, then: Jog for 3 minutes; walk 90 seconds; jog 5 minutes; walk 2.5 minutes; jog 3 minutes; walk 90 seconds; jog 5 minutes.
I'm half-way there!! I can't believe it. If you had told me four weeks ago that I would be half-way to running a 5K I would have called you crazy and probably laughed in your face. It's amazing what you can do if you really commit to something and stick to it! It's also great that the Olympics are on right now because it's giving me great motivation!
This is so much more challenging than I thought. Challenging in a good way, though. Even if I never run a 5K, I got my butt off the couch and I am running!  I never thought I would be capable of pushing my body to these limits. Towards the end of each run when my legs and feet are tired, and I just want to quit and go home to lay on the couch, I tell myself "don't stop," and I keep going. 
Today's run was...interesting. I decided to go do a loop around the track at the park and come back. When I got to the park, there were these three teenage boys riding their bikes. I was running pretty slow because my legs were hurting a bit. One of the boys decided to cruise past me on his bike and go, "HELLO!" I just looked at him and said, "Seriously dude?" and kept running. I could see them watching me the whole way around the loop. On my way back around the loop, I saw a deer with a broken leg. I felt so bad, and at one point, she looked up at me. I wanted to go help her, but I knew she would run away. Just then, the ice cream man drove by me! He waved, and I smiled, but inside I was scoffing at him. I don't need your ice cream! I thought. 
When I got to the traffic light, the boys were waiting there on their bikes and the one decided to ride by me again and say, "HELLO!" I just shook my head and ran on.
During the last 5-minute run, I got to a point where I wasn't really paying attention to how long I had been running. Then finally the voice came on and said "One minute left!" and I thought that I could keep going for a few more minutes. I guess that's a good sign because next week starts the heavy running. Here's to the second half of C25K! I know I can do it!!

Wednesday, August 8, 2012

Week 4 Day 2

Monday. Brisk five-minute warm-up walk, then: Jog for 3 minutes; walk 90 seconds; jog 5 minutes; walk 2.5 minutes; jog 3 minutes; walk 90 seconds; jog 5 minutes.
OK kids, let this be a lesson to you. It is ALWAYS a good idea to eat a well-balanced meal to fuel you up before you go running. Not right before, of course, but at least an hour or two before your workout. Today I had a big breakfast, so wasn't too hungry at lunch. I ate half of my sandwich, 1/4 of a bag of chips, and an ice cream sandwich. When it came time for my workout after I got home from work, I definitely felt that I didn't have enough energy and that the workout was going to be tough. It was tough all right. 
The first 3-minute jog was not bad, and I was actually feeling good. But when it came time for the first 5-minute jog, I swear that 5 minutes lasted 10 minutes. The heat from the pavement was sucking the life out of me. I just kept telling myself to keep going, no matter how slow I was running. I was determined not to stop. 
Finally, the end of the second 5-minute jog came. "One minute remaining," said the voice. OK, I can do this, I thought. I got a little burst of energy at the end and was able to pick my feet up a little more. My favorite song in the world (Bohemian Rhapsody) came on, so that at least made me smile :)
I made it to the end, and started my cool-down. I was so relieved it was over. I was proud of myself that I didn't stop, but from now on, will make sure that I eat a proper lunch!! 
I leave you with this:

Monday, August 6, 2012

Week 4 Day 1

Monday. Brisk five-minute warm-up walk, then: Jog for 3 minutes; walk 90 seconds; jog 5 minutes; walk 2.5 minutes; jog 3 minutes; walk 90 seconds; jog 5 minutes.
I admit, I was a little bit terrified of today's workout. The thought of jogging for 5 minutes straight freaked me out. Not that I thought I couldn't do it, it's just that I've never done it before, so I was curious as to how it would go. Off I went!
The first 3 minute jog was not bad. I had a little tightness in my left calf that started up pretty much immediately, but I just took it slow and pushed through the pain. I made it through with little effort (crazy right?!). I made it through the next walking interval and it was time for the 5-minute run. I had a song picked out that I knew was about 5 minutes long, and that song is "What You Own," from the RENT soundtrack. So I fast forwarded to that song and started off. "I can do this," I said to myself. "I can do this." I took it slow, and kept telling myself that I could do it. I knew when the song would be over, and I knew I could make it. And wouldn't you know it, the end of the song came and I was still going! I did it! 
I knew at that point if I could do it once, I could do it again. And do it again I did. This time, I knew that at some point, the voice would say, "1 minute remaining," and I had decided to do a final push as fast as I felt comfortable. Boy did that feel good. I finished strong and got a final burst of energy to close out the workout. "Begin your cool-down," said the voice. I threw my hands in the air and cheered, "YES!" I felt like an Olympian. I had made it.
So, I'm not as freaked out about Wednesday's workout now because now I KNOW that I can do it. Not that I ever doubted myself ;)



Friday, August 3, 2012

Week 3 Day 3

Friday. Brisk 5-minute warm-up walk, then do two repetitions of the following: Jog for 90 seconds; Walk for 90 seconds; Jog for 3 minutes; Walk for 3 minutes.
Another week of running comes to a close! I decided to treat myself to a little change of scenery, so I went to the canal path that runs in between the Raritan River and the Canal. It was actually quite nice! There was all kinds of wildlife, and it was mostly in the shade, so that was an added bonus. It's always nice to switch up your route for a change of pace (haha, get it?) :)
It was BRUTAL out there today. The air was so thick and hot, so it made it hard to breathe and even harder to keep pace during the running parts. (Seriously, what was I thinking starting this running program in the middle of summer??) But no amount of humidity was going to stop me, so off I went. 
I admit, this week was challenging. Three minutes is a long time to run without stopping! But it's crazy to think that just a month ago, I would never have thought that I could run for three minutes straight, or even ONE minute straight! Next week's workouts make me a little nervous, but you won't hear me say I can't do it! 
Well, I don't have much to say so I will leave you with this:



Wednesday, August 1, 2012

Week 3 Day 2

Wednesday. Brisk 5-minute warm-up walk, then do two repetitions of the following: Jog for 90 seconds; Walk for 90 seconds; Jog for 3 minutes; Walk for 3 minutes.
Running in the rain!! How cool am I?? I wanted to give running in the rain a try, and boy did I love it! There was no one else on the road with me, and the cooling rain felt so good, even though I was still sweating. Of course now I'm soaking wet, but it was totally worth it!!


I realized that I have not yet shared any of my weight loss/fitness goals with you all. By the way, I thank you all for the continued support and encouragement so far. It really does help keep me motivated...really!! Keep it up!!


Anyway...my goals are as follows: 
Weight Loss
I want to lose at least 20 pounds, but ideally, 30 pounds or more. My "wedding weight" was 135, and I would love to get back there. I haven't necessarily put a time constraint on the weight loss because I don't want to get disappointed if I don't make it (e.g. "Lose 30 pounds by Christmas"). I just want to lose the weight, period. I have to teach myself not to be obsessed with the scale. For a while, I was getting on it every day, and it would just discourage me because I wasn't losing any weight. Where I feel the weight loss is in how my clothes fit, and how I look and feel. The other day I put on a pair of shorts that two weeks ago didn't fit me! While the scale didn't really reflect any significant weight loss, I knew something happened because now those shorts fit me! I feel slimmer and with all this running, I feel more athletic. I just feel great.


Fitness
Since I'm doing the C25K program, my goal is pretty obvious...run a 5K! If I complete the 8 weeks without repeating any, I should finish by the first week of September. It has always been a goal of mine to run the 5K in my hometown - the Dunellen 5K. This race usually takes place in late September, after school starts. So my goal is to be ready in time to run the Dunellen 5K. I have always been a spectator at 5K's because my hubby Evan is a runner who regularly runs 5K's in our area. Don't get me wrong, I enjoy watching, taking pictures and cheering, but how awesome will it be this time to be able to run alongside my husband with people cheering for me?! I'm scared but excited because I know I can do it! And I have all of you to cheer me on and keep me going. 


So there you have it...my fitness goals. Seriously, I really appreciate all the encouragement. And if you're praying for me, I appreciate that too!! I know I can do this!!

Monday, July 30, 2012

Week 3 Day 1

Monday. Brisk 5-minute warmup walk, then do two repetitions of the following: Jog for 90 seconds; Walk for 90 seconds; Jog for 3 minutes; Walk for 3 minutes.
A new week is here! I got some good rest over the weekend, including nursing that dag'gum blister on my heel as well as a muscle strain in my right calf. I felt like this week's workouts would be a bit "easier" than last week's as the intervals of walking and running seemed more manageable. I say, "easier," because it is still challenging, it's just a little less challenging than last week. Well boy was I surprised!! The workout was effectively easier than last week, and the running portions seemed to be over much quicker. But three minutes is a long time when you're running!! 
The weather was a bit cooler today, so at least it made for optimal running conditions. Still hot in the sun though...
I started off strong, like always, and decided to take the high school route again. I mapped the route on the computer and discovered that it's about 2 miles round trip. I reached the half-way point faster than I thought I would, and my legs were burning, but I was feeling good. Once the 4th running interval was over, I knew I had done it. It was hard, but I was proud that I didn't quit, once again. "1 minute remaining!" said my C25K trainer, and I did my own personal fist-pump because I was basically done. All that was left was cool down. One of my favorite songs from RENT ("Out Tonight") came on just as I was starting the cool-down, and I danced all the way to my front door. 
I am so ready for Week 3 Day 2!!
And just remember....



Friday, July 27, 2012

Week 2 Day 3

Friday. Brisk five-minute warmup walk. Then alternate 90 seconds of jogging and two minutes of walking for a total of 20 minutes.
I was so busy trying to inspire you all on Wednesday that I forgot to mention the wicked blister I acquired on my left ankle while I was running. I had worn new shoes that day to work, and so the blister was already starting to form on my Achilles tendon. When I went out running, about half-way into the run, I could feel my sock slipping down inside my shoe, thus causing my shoe to rub up against my ankle. It was really starting to hurt, and when I rounded the corner for the home-stretch, I could tell I was bleeding. But I was determined not to stop. Yes it hurt, and yes I couldn't wait to be done and get home, but I was not going to stop. I channeled Steve Prefontaine (who once finished - and won - a race with a cut on his foot), and just kept pushing.
Sure enough, when I finally reached home, I ripped off my shoe, and yup, there was blood on my shoe and my sock. My ankle stung like no tomorrow. Even putting peroxide on it stung like crazy. I had suffered my first running injury. 
I told you all that to say that I was a little worried about running today. The blister was still there, and it still stung really bad. I made sure wear socks that would not slip down into my shoe, and kept the blister covered. And off I went.
It was a muggy day today, so it made the running conditions not-so-ideal. But do you think I was going to let that stop me? Heck no! I decided to take a different route today to change it up a bit. Instead of the "M-R-W" run, I ran over to Middlesex High School to run around the track and come back. When I reached the track, I realized it was entirely in the sun (why did I decide to start running in the middle of summer?!). I kinda wanted to stay in the shade, so I decided to take a detour through the woods behind the high school. I then doubled back and headed home. It actually was a bit longer than my other route, which was good because it gave me more time to cool down. I felt energized and tired all at once. I think I may have to repeat one more day of week 2 before moving on to week 3, but I can definitely handle it. 
And as for my blister? It was hurting a bit during my warmup, but once I started running, I barely felt it anymore. I'm loving this!! 

Wednesday, July 25, 2012

Week 2 Day 2

Wednesday. Brisk five-minute warmup walk. Then alternate 90 seconds of jogging and two minutes of walking for a total of 20 minutes.
With no rain in the forecast and cooler temperatures today, I was excited to get out there. I created a new "running mix" of songs from my iPhone, so I was ready to go. Since I'm getting used to my route, I knew how far I had to go before I was halfway. I knew I could do it today. Well, not like I was going to give up anyway! 
That is a good tip and a good reminder not just for myself, but for everyone: Eliminate the phrase "I can't" from your vocabulary. Eliminate it! When I tried exercising in the past, I would look at what I set out to do and think, "I can't do that...I will never be that good." And it never failed, I would give up, and I would be left disappointed. It's a self-fulfilling prophecy. If you say "I can't," well, you won't. If you say, "I CAN," you will! When I first looked at the C25k program, I looked ahead to the later weeks to see what I would eventually have to do. Week 5 has you running 5 minutes straight, then walking for 3 minutes. "I can't do that!" I thought to myself. Well of course I can't...right now anyway! I was only on week 1! When I get to week 5, I will be able to do it. 


I think people do that often, not just in working out, but in life. They will look ahead to where they have to end up, and think they can't do it. Well of course you can't, because you're not ready yet. Everything in life is a journey. You can't go from being an entry level employee to being the CEO the next day. You can't lose 40 pounds in a day (or even a week). You can't graduate high school or college after your first day. It's all because you're not ready. Everything takes time and practice. Instead of looking ahead to where you need to end up and think "I can't get there," or "I can't do that," look only to the next step you need to take. Trying to reach the end right from the beginning is impossible, but trying to reach your next step is not. Like the advice my cousin Linda gave me before I started this journey: Go slow, stay confident, don't give up, and don't be afraid to repeat some weeks if you have to. It's OK. As long as you are out there doing it, you're out-doing your old self who thought "I can't do that." You CAN do it. 


OK, so this was more of an inspirational post than a "what I experienced on my run today" post, but I think it's necessary to motivate and inspire yourself and others too. Motivation and inspiration is what keeps us going, keeps us honest, keeps us "out there" instead of on the couch (or bench, if you prefer a more sports-related analogy). Can't wait for Friday's run...see you then!

Monday, July 23, 2012

Week 2 Day 1

Monday. Brisk five-minute warmup walk. Then alternate 90 seconds of jogging and two minutes of walking for a total of 20 minutes.
Well, I made it to Week 2! I'm not sure why, but Week 1 seemed VERY long. I had a lot to do last week, so maybe that contributed to the cause. Due to weekend plans I had made to spend with my mom, and an unexpected migraine, I was not able to run on Friday, Saturday OR Sunday (ack!). I was really bummed because I was afraid to skip more than 2 days of running. But I kept as active as I could, and I was excited to get out there today.
The weather forecast was calling for "PM thunderstorms," but I was going running come hell or high water. Sure enough, as soon as I pulled in my driveway, the thunder clouds rolled in and it started pouring. I got ready anyway, and practically stood by the door waiting for it to pass.
That's something I really like about this program...it actually makes me WANT to run, which I have never experienced before. I might go out for a few days, then decide that I'm tired and end up sitting on the couch instead. But I guess that's why they call it "Couch to 5k!" 
I started off strong again, but I soon realized that skipping three days of running is NOT a good idea. My legs started burning almost immediately into the first set of jogging. I just kept pushing and saying to myself, "Don't give up. Don't give up." I took the same route as I did on Thursday, which I am dubbing my "M-R-W Run" since it brings me past McDonald's, Rita's and Wendy's. 
When I got halfway into the workout, I thought for sure that I wasn't going to make it. But again, I just kept repeating, "Don't quit, don't give up. Don't quit, don't give up." Just then, somebody who was also out for a run rounded the corner the same time as me, only across the street. He was running much like Evan does, which discouraged me a bit. He was only in my sight for a minute or two, and then he disappeared. "Whatever," I thought, "At least I'm out here, I'm doing it."
I finally came to the 1-minute mark and was so proud...I made it, again. I didn't quit. I finished my cool-down and headed for home. I was hot, sweaty and tired, but I did it! And lesson learned, don't skip more than two days at a time!! Bring on week 2 day 2!!

Thursday, July 19, 2012

Week 1 Day 3

Thursday. 5-minute warm-up walk, then alternating between 60 seconds of running and 2 minutes of walking for a total of 30 minutes.
This was the last of this type of workout, so I was pumped! I was not going to let a little rain stop me this time (it was POURING yesterday, so I had to postpone my workout 'till today). I had a pretty bad day at work, so I channeled all that adrenaline to running. I started off strong, with my Rocky Horror Picture Show station on Pandora to keep my company. I decided to take a slightly different route this time, so when I got to the spot where I normally turn around, I kept going. This made me run past not only McDonald's, but Rita's and Wendy's too. Pfft...who needs 'em?!
I slowed down a little bit when I rounded the corner past Rita's, but shortly after, the voice came on and said I was half-way. I got a sudden burst of energy and pride because even though my legs were burning, I knew I could finish strong. I turned down some of the side streets of Middlesex, and passed by a sweet old Asian man sitting on his porch. When he saw me, he smiled and waved, so I smiled and waved back. Totally made my day, and I got another enormous energy burst! Next thing I knew, "Livin' on a Prayer" came on, and I felt like I could take on the world!! Just then, the voice came on and said, "1 minute left." I was happy, but slightly disappointed...I kinda wanted to keep running!
The next set of workouts increases the running increments to 90 seconds...bring it on!!

Monday, July 16, 2012

Week 1 Day 2

Monday. 5-minute warm-up walk, then alternating between 60 seconds of running and 2 minutes of walking for a total of 30 minutes.
Wow, day 2 was a LOT harder than I thought it was going to be. My muscles were still a bit sore from Saturday's adventure, so I started "feeling the burn" a lot quicker this time. It was another hot and humid day, and the sun was right in my face for the first leg. Evan joined me this time for a little extra motivation. 
The workout was the same as day 1, so I knew what to expect this time. For some reason though, the running parts seemed to last longer. Maybe because instead of listening to music, I was just running alongside Evan. (It's definitely easier with music!) We did get to see a fox and a couple of deer though :)
I took a slightly different route this time, which actually led me to have to run by McDonald's. I kind of stuck up my nose as I ran by, and was proud that I wasn't inside eating! 
I finished my workout in the park again, in the shade. My legs were burning towards the end and I kept checking to see how much time was left. When the voice finally came on and said, "Begin your cool-down," I was so thankful. Thankful that it was cool-down time, and thankful that I hadn't given up. I made it through day 2! I'm not diggin' this heat outside, but I am diggin' that I'm getting out there instead of sitting on the couch. I feel more fit already. On to day 3!

Week 1 Day 1

Saturday. 5-minute warm-up walk, then alternating between 60 seconds of running and 2 minutes of walking for a total of 30 minutes.


I set out for my very first adventure on the "C25k" program. I had my best workout clothes on, and new running shoes to complete the outfit. I plugged in my headphones, started up my music, and began the program. The voice told me to begin the 5-minute warm-up walk. "Here goes nothing..." I said to myself, and took my first step.
It didn't take long for me to notice how hot and humid it was outside. But I wasn't going to let it bother me, and I kept going.
Five minutes later, the voice came back and said "begin running." 60 seconds of running...I can handle this. My cousin Linda gave me some good advice for this program and suggested that I run slower than I think I should. Like so slow, it feels silly. I remembered that as I was running. I literally had been walking faster than I was running, but I was doing it.
60 seconds went by faster than I thought, because before I knew it, the voice was back saying, "start walking." OK, two minutes of walking...so far so good. I was feeling good, although I was really feeling the heat outside. I cycled through a few more rounds of running and walking, and started to turn around and head home. At one point, the voice came on and said "you are at the half-way point!" UGH! I thought. Hearing that, I decided to head to the park across the street from my house where I could run in the shade. That felt a little better, so I ended up doing about 4 more laps around the park and soon, the voice came on and said, "Begin cool-down."
I made it! I thought to myself. I did one more lap around the park, and waited for the voice to say "workout completed." I breathed a sigh of relief and headed for my front door. I had done it. Day 1 is in the books. Looking forward to Day 2!