Monday. Brisk five-minute warmup walk. Then alternate 90 seconds of jogging and two minutes of walking for a total of 20 minutes.
Well, I made it to Week 2! I'm not sure why, but Week 1 seemed VERY long. I had a lot to do last week, so maybe that contributed to the cause. Due to weekend plans I had made to spend with my mom, and an unexpected migraine, I was not able to run on Friday, Saturday OR Sunday (ack!). I was really bummed because I was afraid to skip more than 2 days of running. But I kept as active as I could, and I was excited to get out there today.
The weather forecast was calling for "PM thunderstorms," but I was going running come hell or high water. Sure enough, as soon as I pulled in my driveway, the thunder clouds rolled in and it started pouring. I got ready anyway, and practically stood by the door waiting for it to pass.
That's something I really like about this program...it actually makes me WANT to run, which I have never experienced before. I might go out for a few days, then decide that I'm tired and end up sitting on the couch instead. But I guess that's why they call it "Couch to 5k!"
I started off strong again, but I soon realized that skipping three days of running is NOT a good idea. My legs started burning almost immediately into the first set of jogging. I just kept pushing and saying to myself, "Don't give up. Don't give up." I took the same route as I did on Thursday, which I am dubbing my "M-R-W Run" since it brings me past McDonald's, Rita's and Wendy's.
When I got halfway into the workout, I thought for sure that I wasn't going to make it. But again, I just kept repeating, "Don't quit, don't give up. Don't quit, don't give up." Just then, somebody who was also out for a run rounded the corner the same time as me, only across the street. He was running much like Evan does, which discouraged me a bit. He was only in my sight for a minute or two, and then he disappeared. "Whatever," I thought, "At least I'm out here, I'm doing it."
I finally came to the 1-minute mark and was so proud...I made it, again. I didn't quit. I finished my cool-down and headed for home. I was hot, sweaty and tired, but I did it! And lesson learned, don't skip more than two days at a time!! Bring on week 2 day 2!!
No comments:
Post a Comment