Wednesday. Brisk five-minute warm-up walk, then: Jog 3/4 mile (or 8 minutes); walk 1/2 mile (or 5 minutes); jog 3/4 mile (or 8 minutes).
So today I began running distances instead of times. I was feeling confident and pumped, so I was eager to get out there and do my workout.
I decided to ride my bike to the track at Middlesex High School so that I could easily calculate the distances for each interval. Three-quarters of a mile is three laps around the track, and half-a-mile is two. Just like I was on Monday, I kept thinking to myself, "I can't believe I'm doing this!" I even brought Evan along with me so he could coach me a little and keep me motivated :)
I am absolutely stunned at what I've been able to accomplish in just 5 short weeks...and really, only 15 days since I work out only 3 days a week. I keep looking back at past times that I have tried running and just failed miserably. I was always trying to accomplish too much, too fast, and too soon. I wanted to be able to run a 5K after a week, but I always failed because that is close to impossible. Unless your name is Superman (or Superwoman), it is crazy to think you will be able to run a 5K after only one week of training, especially if before, you were a certified couch potato like myself.
C25K is really amazing, and I will confess that when I first started, I didn't think I would make it. I thought, just like every other time, I would get maybe 2 or 3 weeks in and either quit or give up. But now, I am past the half-way point, and I see no signs of quitting, giving up, or failing at all! I have just three weeks to go, and I will be ready for my first 5K! I'm really starting to feel like a real athlete now. I can feel my muscles developing and getting stronger. I have more energy for my workouts (thanks in part to my friend Mary! Check her out at New Reflections!) I feel absolutely amazing.
By Friday, I am supposed to run 2 whole miles with no walking in-between (yikes!). I'm excited, and I know I can do it. Bring it on!!
1 comment:
My dear Aubrey -
Yesterday I posted a mini novel about how you inspire me - and you really do. I wish I had the time (really I do) to do this, because you are the very first person who really, really talks the truth about this. Your taking it slow - your honest about being a couch potato, etc. AND your happy and having fun. GIRRRLLLL you had me at "I was smiling when I ran!" NOBODY does that! YAY YOU!
I am so proud of you - your not only going to do this - your going to exceed it!! I am here for you - 100%.... I will be your cheerleader and your "sponsor" - Now it will not only be "Catch the BzZZzz..." but it will be "Catch Aubrey - if you can!" XOXOXOXOXO
Post a Comment